By Benjamin Shapiro 

Sisyphean Dream

Cinereal stone spins, 
Pushed upward by 
Labor-hardened hands.
Retribution 
Demanded by deities.
For trickery,
They say.
For loving life,
I say.
Tyrannical titans,
Sitting sternly, silently,
In judgement of
The Crimes
Of their own
Creation.
Hades, hardened to
Man’s plight
Came to me.
To take me
From my immortal Merope,
Cherished sprite
That I so loved.
She, most beauteous of her sisters.
The truth belonged to her alone,
The rest received my rascality.
For her, my magnanimous muse,
I would deceive death.
And thus, I did.
Hades, hard-hearted,
Head-harder.
Handcuffs held happily
heaved a heady huff.
Shackles, seldom seen,
Supply strategy to supple synapses.
Curiosity culled from crumbs,
Feigned for fatuous Phantom,
Daft deity dares not deny demonstration.
Fool fettered.
World
Devoid of death.
Goodbye grief,
No more mourning.
All men immortal,
All-new gods.
Pedestal dwellers
Go unworshipped,
Sacrifices won’t wither.
Only old deities die,
Along with old systems.
Men, formerly fodder,
Become Father.
Zeus zealously objects.
Phantoms and Furies
Descend decisively.
Kingdom’s uppance come.
Hades, hubritic,
Deals death,
Strokes his scythe.
Sisyphus, me, shackled.
Styx’s still-
Waters await.
Merope, mine.
Dear defender.
Pleads as only Pleiades can.
God’s, unhearing in their anger,
Banish bright Merope’s
Once luminous star
To dark, dim domains.
Punishment for both
Her and I.
Dear divine muse,
I deceived death
To join you in immortality.
Now we shall be ever, eternally,
Apart.
This boulder I bear
Is of nothing
To that burden.
Persecuted and prosecuted,
Tried and tortured,
The verdict was their victory,
The pride was in their punishment.
Bound to a boulder,
As attached to it as
I adhered to life.
Pushing, pulling,
Never ceasing.
No summit in sight.
I push on,
Through centuries of struggle,
Both mine and mankind’s.
Watching while
Kingdoms come and crumble.
Proceeding upwards,
Faltering, then falling
Both boulder
And man.

Leave a Reply

